We’re Back!

Modeling

Alrighty, let’s get down to business.

So I have a moleskin that I use for pretty much everything: show and story ideas, game design, game ideas, sketching, notes on rules for tabletop games, scheduling for projects etc. In this notebook I also have a page where I’ve jotted down ideas for various projects I could do in 3D (I also track some things on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/emmetation/3d-modeling-ideas-tutorials/)

One of said ideas is a Proton Pack from the movie Ghostbusters. Hence the video above. The proton pack looks like this

GB1 Proton Pack

 

I set out to model a Proton Pack in 3D. Ghostbusters is tied with Back to the Future and The Lion King for my favourite movie of all time, so I’d be damned if I was going to half ass it.

The first step (as with basically all 3D models) was research and reference. I jumped on to Google and got to work. I found a heap of great reference from the film itself but the biggest help was the replica prop community. These guys know their stuff, and there is an enormous Ghostbusters fan base. Here’s a few of the most beneficial links:

 

I basically followed the blueprints from GB Fans first, as it gave a front, side, and sometimes top view of all the elements. Here are the first few items modeled:

That’s it for now. The next few blog posts will follow the rest of the process.

Toodles
– Emmet

Leave a Reply

